The South Western School District board consists of elected citizens of the district. Any resident may run for election to the board provided that they meet certain qualifications. School Directors are elected officials who serve without pay as the governing body of the school district.

The SWSD School Board enacts policy and provides guidance to the administration in the management of the school district. Collectively it provides direction for the district, assisting in financial decision-making, approving policies, validating strategic planning for long-term goals and approving the budget.

The board typically meets on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month at 7:00 PM at the Administration Office, 225 Bowman Rd, Hanover PA 17331. The first meeting of the month is a Planning Meeting, during which School Board members discuss issues and set the agenda for the Regular Meeting. The second meeting, called the Regular Meeting, is typically the time during which issues are brought up and voted upon.

Each meeting provides an opportunity for citizen input, questions or comments, either on a specific agenda item or on a general topic related to district operations or educational programs. We welcome and encourage all of our district residents to attend our meetings.

Our School Board members make many sacrifices in their dedication to the mission of the district. They put in many long hours for which they are only compensated with the satisfaction that they played a role in making our district a better place for students, families, faculty and the community as a whole.

Board Members

President: Vanessa M. Berger – 12/2005-2021
Vice President: Thomas M. Zimmerman – 12/2003-2019
Secretary: Jeffrey A. Mummert
Treasurer: Douglas A. Fuhrman
Solicitor: Gareth D. Pahowka
Member: Cindy A. Boyer – 04/2013-2019
Member: Jay A. Clouspy – 12/2012-2019
Member: James S. Harris – 02/2017-2021
Member: Ray M. Mummert – 12/1999-2019
Member: M. Ann Rinker – 12/1983-2019
Member: Richard E. Plesic III – 09/2018-2019
Member: Clint A. Wright – 12/2017-2021


Building, Grounds & Equipment

Chairperson: Ray M. Mummert
Member: Cindy A. Boyer
Member: James S. Harris
Member: Richard E. Plesic III

Finance & Support Services

Chairperson: Thomas M. Zimmerman
Member: Cindy A. Boyer
Member: James S. Harris
Member: Ray M. Mummert
Member: Clint A. Wright


Chairperson: M. Ann Rinker
Member: Jay A. Clouspy
Member: Richard E. Plesic III


Chairperson: James S. Harris
Member: Ray M. Mummert
Member: M. Ann Rinker
Member: Thomas M. Zimmerman

Student & Community Relations

Chairperson: Cindy A. Boyer
Member: James S. Harris
Member: Clint A. Wright

Other Assignments

York County School of Technology

Joint Operating Committee
Representative: M. Ann Rinker
Alternate: Clint A. Wright

Representative: Richard E. Plesic III


Representative: Vanessa M. Berger

Township Liaison Committee

Representative: Thomas M. Zimmerman

Recreation Commission

Representative: Jay A. Clouspy


Chairperson: Thomas M. Zimmerman
Representative: M. Ann Rinker
Representative: Jay A. Clouspy

SW Education Foundation Board

Representative: Jay A. Clouspy

Wellness Committee

Representative: Jay A. Clouspy

York Learning Center Authority

Representative: Vacant